I’m Test Driving Retirement

dsc_0339(Post by Rick Dacri, September 8, 2016)

It’s time for a new adventure.

I’ve decided to try something new. What, I am not sure. What I do know is that I am closing my firm, Dacri & Associates. After 21 years in my consulting business and nearly 40 years in the HR profession, I am ending this chapter to begin exploring other options.

In the interim, I am, as my wife has aptly described it, test-driving retirement.

Retirement (having trouble writing that word, never mind doing it) was not part of the original plan—not at least at this point in my life. I had planned to take the summer off from my business (something I have never done before) and while doing it, I decided it was time to consider doing something else. 21 years running a solo consulting business and 40 years in HR is a lot. So while I don’t know what I will be doing next, I know it is time to step away from Dacri & Associates.

The good news is that I am doing it at a time when I am healthy and in a financial position where I do not have to earn a living. My family is supporting my decision, encouraging me to enjoy this time and tolerating some of my doubts and second-guessing.

It has been a great initial few months since I began this venture. I now have a terrific tan from my time at the beach (summers in the Kennebunks are the best); I am learning to play the piano again (after a 50+ year break since the last time I tried); I am gardening for the first time in 25 years (you should see the zucchini, tomatoes and eggplant); I am learning to cook (my wife is thrilled with this…I’m not bad); I am taking much longer walks with my dog, Bailey (he loves it and has lost weight); I am starting my 9th David Baldacci thriller (must reads); and I have found my camera and have begun taking pictures (I may share at some point). I am frankly living the good life.

For those who were planning to call me for help, call anyway. I would like to talk and I am happy to make a referral. For anyone who would like to have coffee or lunch, I have time. My calendar is not that filled.

I’ll continue posting to my blog, though more likely it will be on all things not HR…but they could be. And when I finally decide what I want to be when I grow up, I’ll let you know. It’s a journey, after all.

So, be well, stay in touch; but for now, I’m off to the beach!

2 Comments

Filed under careers, Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m Test Driving Retirement

  1. Wonderful news. Since you have more time on your hands than I do, ‘ll depend on you to coordinate lunch.

  2. Congratulations Rick. Sounds like the test drive is going well. You may have bought it I think! Enjoy this beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

